Bookworm II

The Very Ugly Duckling

by Christopher Nuttall

Book II of    The Bookworm series

Not every ugly duckling becomes a swan

Bookworm II – The Very Ugly Duckling cover image
Artwork: Alison Buck
Library photograph: zens/

In the wake of the disastrous attack on the Golden City, Lady Light Spinner has become Grand Sorceress and Elaine, the Bookworm, has been settling into her positions as Head Librarian and Privy Councillor. But any hope of vanishing into her books is negated when a new magician of staggering power appears, one whose abilities seem to defy the known laws of magic.

Johan is a Powerless, a person born to a magical family yet lacking powers of his own. His dreams of a better life are curbed by his family, who see him as a cripple at best and a burden at worst. But when a political protest goes horrifically wrong, Johan discovers that his true powers have merely been buried, waiting for their chance to explode into the world. As he comes to grips with his newfound talents, he realises that he finally has a chance to achieve his ambitions

But for the Golden City, reeling after the devastation of six months before, he may be the greatest threat the city has ever seen. Elaine must unlock the mystery behind his powers before the political factions can kill him … or use him to unleash a nightmare.

Returning to well-loved characters from Bookworm, the first book in the Bookworm series, as well as introducing some new ones, Bookworm II: The Very Ugly Duckling, the second in the series, explores power – and the effect it has on the human mind. The third book is Bookworm III: The Best Laid Plans. The fourth and final book in the series is Bookworm IV: Full Circle.

Bookworm II: The Very Ugly Duckling was published in a digital edition on 3rd January 2014 and in paperback on 1st April 2014.


ISBN: 978-1-908168-38-2 eBook Typical price £2.99 / €3.49 / $3.99
ISBN: 978-1-908168-28-3 paperback 368pp List price £9.99 / €11.99 / $17.99
Prices online may vary. eBook price includes VAT (where applicable).

Bookworm II unabridged audiobook from Tantor narrated by Zehra Jane NaqviThe Bookworm series is available as unabridged audiobooks from Tantor Media Inc. narrated by Zehra Jane Naqvi. They are now available through major audiobook retailers.



Try Buy

Click here to view the trailer on our YouTube channel.

Samples are available on the Apple iTunes iBookstores, Kobobooks and Amazon Kindle stores


Find on your favourite retailer
(via Books2Read)

Available from Kobobooks
(click here)

Available from all Apple iBookstores
(click here)

Available from Amazon Kindle stores
(click on country below):
~ UK ~ AU ~ CA ~ US ~
~ BR ~ DE ~ ES ~ FR ~ IN ~
~ IT ~ JP ~ MX ~ NL ~

Available to buy from Google Play
(click here)

Available from Barnes & Noble
(click here)

Narrated by Zehra Jane Naqvi

Published by Tantor Media (click here)

Available from Apple iTunes
(click here)

Available from Audible
(click here)


Available from all good bookshops.
If your local bookshop doesn’t have it in stock ask them to order it from the usual wholesalers or direct from us.

Or BUY DIRECT from the Elsewhen Press Purchasing Portal.
Select the appropriate shipping destination below and then click on the ‘Add to Cart’ button that appears.

Advance Information Sheet available here