The Magic Is Always With Us

by David M Allan

In Tirog, rulers of a domain are its source of magical power

The Magic Is Always With Us by David M Allan; Cover artwork: Alison Buck
Cover artwork: Alison Buck

Lady Trinafar, seventh child of a seventh child, should be a source and become the next ruler of Eideann after her mother Igrainid. But she is not a source. No-one knows why. When she meets Fergus in Edinburgh and he persuades her to take him to Tirog, she doesn’t realise that she is triggering a series of events that will affect not only her but the future of Eideann itself.


The floor in front of the throne was covered by a yellow and green carpet with a maze pattern. It grabbed Trinafar’s attention. It’s a trap, isn’t it. Start tracing the curves and the magic will ensnare the watcher. She knew she should ignore it, but it was difficult. It must give him an advantage over any visitors. It took a lot of concentration, but she did manage to drag her eyes away from the maze and look somewhere else. Even with the effort she had put into breaking the mesmeric effect it wasn’t until he spoke that she was completely free of the influence of the carpet.

The action takes place in various places in both Alba and Scotland. Handily, one of the characters has a map:

Map of Alba in Tirog from The Magic Is Always With Us by David M Allan; Map: Alison Buck
Map of Alba in Tirog © 2024 Alison Buck

The Magic Is Always With Us, was published on 29 March 2024 in eBook and will be published on 29 April in paperback.

ISBN: 978-1-915304-52-0 eBook Typical price £2.99 / €3.49 / $3.99
ISBN: 978-1-915304-42-1 paperback 314pp List price £10 / €13 / US$20
Prices online may vary. eBook price includes VAT (where applicable).


    Try Buy

    Samples are available on the Apple iTunes iBookstores, Kobobooks and Amazon Kindle stores


    Find on your favourite retailer
    (via Books2Read)

    Available from all Apple iBookstores
    (click here)

    Available from Google Play
    (click here)

    Available from Kobobooks
    (click here)

    Available from Barnes & Noble
    (click here)

    Available from Amazon Kindle stores
    (click on country below):
    ~ UK ~ AU ~ CA ~ US ~
    ~ BR ~ DE ~ ES ~ FR ~ IN ~
    ~ IT ~ JP ~ MX ~ NL ~

    Advance Information Sheet available here